An Ivy Hill Christmas by Julie Klassen

An Ivy Hill Christmas by Julie Klassen

An Ivy Hill Christmas

by Julie Klassen

I’m on a Christmas story binge, and this one happens to be our Online Historical Romance Book Club selection for December. Fans of Pride and Prejudice and Emma will find parallels to those beloved stories. Some scenes and lines felt like they were taken straight from those Jane Austen novels and placed into this story at just the right moments. It was a story of transformation but light on the romance. There were several scenes that were definitely on the *sigh, that was so sweet* moments, but I was left wishing more time had been spent on the romance.

This was not my favorite of Julie Klassen’s books, but I think I might have enjoyed it a bit more if I had read the other book(s) connected to Ivy Hill. There were lots of connections I felt sure had more meaning and left me wondering who they were. So if you dive into this book, I highly recommend reading the others first. If you do, let me know what I missed out on.

I would recommend this story to fans of Jane Austen, reformed rakes, and messy families.


Genre: Historical Romance, England, 1822

Plot Overview:

Richard Brockwell, the younger son of Ivy Hill’s most prominent family, hasn’t been home for Christmas in years. He prefers to live in the London townhouse, far away from Brockwell Court, the old family secret that haunts him, and the shadows of his past mistakes. But then his mother threatens to stop funding his carefree life–unless he comes home for Christmas. Out of options, he sets out for Ivy Hill, planning to be back on a coach bound for London and his unencumbered bachelor life as soon as the festivities are over.

But Christmas in the country presents unforeseen surprises, including encounters with an orphaned apprentice, the first love he disappointed years ago, and Arabella Awdry, a young lady who is far more appealing than he recalled . . . and determined to have nothing to do with him.

Will Christmastime in Ivy Hill, with its village charm, kissing boughs, joyous songs, and divine hope, work its magic in his heart . . . and hers as well?

What I loved: I loved all the nods to Pride and Prejudice, and watching Richard’s relationship with others change.

Favorite Character and Why: It’s a tie between Wally and Jamie Fletcher. I love how Richard dressed the dog to look like him, and Jamie was just a sweet kid.

Rating and Why: Three Stars. I struggled with the writing style this time, and I just couldn’t sink into the characters. I enjoyed the story, but there were chunks of details I skimmed over.

Amazon.com       Baker Bookhouse        Barnes and Noble        Book Depository      Christianbook.com

Terrific Book Tuesday: The Widow’s Captive by Lucette Nel

 

TheWidowsCaptive.jpg

The Widow’s Captive by Lucette Nel icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640

 

Alright, so this is a “Christmas” novella and I am reviewing it in March. Despite the fact I think Christmas should be celebrated year-round, this book is not so wholly centered around Christmas as to be a Christmas season only read.

 

The Widow’s Captive is the story of a mother doing anything to survive being pursued by a dangerous man while being mere weeks away from childbirth and caring for her other two children. Help comes at the unlikeliest of times, during a blizzard, from a sheriff bearing gifts for the town drunkard.

 

 

This novella is a quick read with a focus on romance and an element of danger. Readers who enjoy stories with children, humor, and innocent love will enjoy this novella. The sheriff does get some time being a traditional hero, but most of the time he is a hero through the sweet acts of kindness and protection of this vulnerable family.

 

I recommend this story no matter the time of year. The warm cozy feeling you feel as you read it never goes out of season.

 

Purchase your own copy at:

Amazon.com

BarnesandNoble.com

Christianbook.com

 

“On the run with two small children and a third due within weeks, Adeline Spencer fears the approaching blizzard will seal their fate. An abandoned cabin is an answer to her prayers. She hopes it will shield them from both the storm and the enraged brother-in-law hot on her tail. But when a stranger knocks at the door, she is convinced they have been found by one of Ward’s lackeys.Blamed for the death of his friend, Sheriff Jonah Hale is determined to prove himself worthy of his badge, even if it means riding into a blizzard to check on a crazy miner. When Jonah reaches the cabin, he’s caught off guard by a pretty and very pregnant young woman wielding a skillet. Bound to a chair while the storm rages, and as Christmas settles in around them, he must find a way to earn Adeline’s trust…and perhaps her heart.”

– Blurb from Amazon

Pin It on Pinterest