Terrific Book Tuesday: Engaging the Competition by Melissa Jagears

EngagingtheCompetition

Engaging the Competition by Melissa Jagears icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640

Engaging the Competition was an enjoyable quick read. The plot was believable and fun to read, but it was the characters I loved.

 

Charlie Andrews is a competitive, tomboy girl who excels at outdoing the boys, whether it be shooting or ranching. Her nature has left her with few choices when circumstances developed requiring her to marry. Her insecurities and struggles are realistic and relatable, especially her struggle between family loyalty and wanting a man she thinks she can’t have.

 

Harrison Gray is not your average western hero. He is a man with tons of book smarts and a disabling amount of blindness without his glasses. I love how he’s not the typical hero who is great at everything, but a real man who wants to be respected and has carefully hidden insecurities.

 

If you are looking for a cute, quick read, I recommend this one.

Ever since Charlotte Andrews bested four-eyed Harrison Gray in a shooting competition when they were teenagers, he decided a tough, show-off girl like Charlie didn’t need him to look after her. Now a teacher at the local school, Harrison learns Charlie intends to marry a neighbor who comes from a long line of no-good troublemakers and, for some inexplicable reason, it falls to him to talk some sense into her…if she has any under that tomboy exterior.

Their heated confrontation unfortunately takes place right as a bad storm is coming on and, in the melee of arguing and taking shelter, Harrison’s glasses are knocked off his face and broken when Charlie’s horse crushes them under a hoof. Harrison and Charlie may have their differences, but she can see from his panic that the loss of his glasses is a blow to him. She volunteers to help him at school until his new pair of special order glasses arrive despite knowing the one place she can’t best Harrison is in the classroom. Readers will have fun being introduced to the characters of Melissa’s Teaville Moral Society series!

– Blurb from Amazon.com

To purchase your own copy, visit:

Amazon.com            Barnes and Noble

Visit Melissa at http://melissajagears.com/

Terrific Book Tuesday: Runaway Bride by Mary Connealy

RunawayBride

Runaway Bride by Mary Connealy icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640

I loved this novella! I have been a huge fan of Mrs. Connealy for a long time and own the majority of her books. This story was a fun bridge between two series, the Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas. I highly recommend reading those two series before reading this novella.

 

Seeing characters you have already met (mostly from Trouble in Texas) and their expanded families is a pure joy, and Big John was always one of my favorites. It was such a blast seeing him be the “tough man” he is and being won over by the determination and courage of Carrie and her brother.

 

It was so enjoyable I ended up reading it while making dinner. My poor library will get a book returned with oil splatters. I will definitely be adding this book to my Connealy collection.

Big John Conroy is a Texas Ranger asked by a friend to assist Carrie. He catches up to Carrie and her brother Isaac and races away from a dangerous man who will stop at nothing to make the beautiful young woman his wife. Soon Big John’s feelings for Carrie turn to more than simply protective, and Carrie finally feels that she’s in the presence of a man she can respect–something she’s never known. Fans of Mary’s The Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas series will enjoy catching up with those characters.

– Blurb from Amazon.com

Buy your copy at:

Amazon.com      or    Barnes and Noble

Visit Mary Connealy at her website http://maryconnealy.com/

Terrific Book Tuesday: Her Dearly Unintended by Regina Jennings

Okay, so life has been a little too chaotic to read for leisure. A crime, I know. Well, I have broken free from jail and am reading again, so first up…

HerDearlyUnintended

Her Dearly Unintended by Regina Jennings icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640icons-1293736_640 5/5

“1870s Missouri –Heavy rain means trouble for Katie Ellen. With her parents away, she’s left to take care of the mountaintop farm alone until Josiah Huckabee happens to check on her. She used to think him charming–used to–but before she can run Josiah off, a stranger appears. The bridge has washed out, stranding a weathered and threatening man with them. Immediately sensing danger, Josiah steps in and claims the place–and Katie Ellen–as his own. His farm, his wife, and this Silas Ruger character better be respectful. Furious, Katie Ellen is forced to play along. Readers of Regina’s Ozark Mountain Romance series will love seeing favorite characters all grown up.”                                                                             – Blurb from Amazon.com

I loved this story! Regina does a great job of making entertaining and relatable characters. Katie Ellen’s perfectionist tendencies were a source of great enjoyment for me as I see much of myself in her. Well, maybe not the clean house, but the need for perfection in the work I do.

Josiah is a character that grows on me, especially when you find out the reason why the man abandoned their childhood friendship. I won’t spoil anything, but let me tell you it is worth the read.

Regina did a great job of keeping me guessing and giving plot twists I totally did not expect. It was a pure joy to read! I highly recommend buying and reading this novella. Her Dearly Unintended is humor, misunderstandings, and love at its best.

 

To purchase your own copy, visit:

Amazon.com       Barnes and Noble

Visit Regina Jennings at http://www.reginajennings.com/.

Terrific Book Tuesday: Mail Order Surprise by Lucy Thompson

MailOrderSurprise

Mail Order Surprise by Lucy Thompson

 

Mail order bride stories have seemed to become a trend in recent Christian Fiction stories. Each has their own special twist, and Mail Order Surprise follows that trend.

 

Neither character has a flawless past nor are they prepared for the trouble that seems to follow the duo wherever they go. Barriers create a love that is slow growing and hesitant, especially on Lydia’s part.

 

Lucy does an excellent job of showing the emotional reactions of an abused woman entering into a new marriage to escape her past and protect her children. Her hesitancy toward love is understandable and realistic.

 

Beau is a gentleman trying to do his best with what he has been given. He doesn’t always make the right choices, but he is a good and admirable man.

 

Both Lydia and Beau start off their marriage withholding important information from each other – she has two children and he has a household full of relatives living with him. The intermingling of the two families is entertaining.

 

The plot moved along nicely and had a few surprises and unexpected twists. While there were some weaknesses to the story, they were easily moved past and the story remained enjoyable.

 

I would not call it the best story I have ever read, but I certainly enjoyed Lucy’s own take on mail order brides. If you are looking for a twist on the traditional story line, this needs to be put on your TBR pile. (To Be Read, if you didn’t know.)

 

*I received a free e-copy in exchange for my honest opinion, which you have read above.*

 

To purchase your own copy, visit:
Amazon.com

Visit the author at https://lucythompsonauthor.com/tag/mail-order-surprise/

 

BEAU HARDING just wants to keep his family together. Leaning on his own strength, he’s tried to do his best by his siblings and he needs a little help. Okay, more than a little help. Only one thing to do—send for a mail order bride. Widow, LYDIA WALSH, must trust God’s promise to protect her future, despite his silence. With her former abusive mother-in-law, MRS. WALSH, after her children, Lydia puts her hope in what she can see: a fresh start as a mail order bride in the mountain town of Halls Pass.

Can these two survive the wild west to find God’s will for their lives and healing for their hearts?

– Blurb from Goodreads.com

Terrific Book Tuesday: The Husband Maneuver by Karen Witemeyer

HusbandManeuver.jpg

 

This is another delightful, light-hearted romance with all the struggle for love you hope to find in a romance, and for my very busy pre-summer schedule, it was the perfect length! I was able to read this in a couple hours on a day I was playing chauffeur for my family.

 

Daniel is a former bounty hunter become legend. He despises the dime novels that exaggerate and glorify his former life as Dead-Eye Dan and has led a quiet life for the last five years at a Jonah Hawkins’ ranch. Bound by an oath, Daniel has done everything he can to suppress his feelings for the ranchman’s daughter.

 

Marietta is in love with Dead-Eye Dan, but not the legend, the real man. When she finds out he is leaving, she is determined to not let him leave without first convincing him to marry her. With Daniel staying behind during the cattle drive to prepare his new mule ranch, Marietta devises a plan that can’t fail.

 

The struggle between admitting love and being bound by an oath is masterfully and humorously done. The passion is swoon worthy and Daniel’s loyalty to his oath is so admirable. I absolutely love the characters and how they interact together.

 

This is definitely a book to be read!

 

You can read this novella on its own at:

Amazon                     Barnes and Noble

 

Or you can get the four novella set of proposals gone wrong – With this Ring? at:

With This Ring? Amazon         With this Ring? Barnes and Noble

 

Visit the Author at http://www.karenwitemeyer.com/

Marietta Hawkins has been in love with ranch foreman Daniel Barrett since she came home from school three years ago. Unfortunately, her father’s rule about hands not fraternizing with his daughter has kept him out of reach. She believed patience would prove a virtue in winning him over–until now. He is leaving. Starting up his own spread. To have any hope of maneuvering him into a proposal, she has to act fast or lose him forever. Fans of A Worthy Pursuit will enjoy seeing these characters again!

– Blurb from Amazon.com

Pin It on Pinterest