Wonders of His Love by Erica Vetsch

Wonders of His Love by Erica Vetsch

Wonders of His Love

by Erica Vetsch

This month I am reviewing each novella from the Joy to the World: A Regency Christmas Collection. First up was Carolyn Miller’s “Heaven and Nature Sing,” followed by “Far as the Curse is Found” by Amanda Barratt.

The final novella is “Wonders of His Love” by Erica Vetsch. This novella would be considered a part of her Serendipity and Secrets series and will be best enjoyed if you have read the first two books in the series: The Lost Lieutenant and The Gentleman Spy. Even if you have not read the previous stories, you will enjoy the story of a widow finding herself anew while under the thumb of her deceased husband’s mother with the help of a Scottish painter. I really enjoyed the sweetness of the story. The dialect of Hamish was well done and so enjoyable, and the struggle between the strength and timidity of Cilla was something you cheered her on through. I truly loved the sweetness of this story as Cilla and Hamish privately deal with their growing feelings for one another. There are so many tender moments in this story, it brings a smile to my face just thinking of them. This definitely falls under the light-hearted and sweet while still dealing with the true-to-life struggles of finding your worth aside from the opinions of others. I highly recommend this story for those looking for something with sweetness mixed with a little bit of meat. The lessons learned by these characters are ones that you will chew on even after you finish reading.


Genre: Historical Romance, England, 1816

Plot Overview:

A Scots portrait painter finds work at a noble manor house over the holidays. He never imagined he’d fall in love with the emotionally frozen widow there. Now he wants nothing more than to thaw her heart.

What I loved: I loved Cilla’s dance between pleasing others and finding one’s self and desires. Perhaps it is because I’ve long struggled with being a people pleaser and determining when to step up for my needs, even when it disappoints those I love. Cilla’s struggle felt real and personal to me.

Favorite Character and Why: Oh, sweet Hamish! I love his artistic touch, sweet heart, and struggle to find his self-worth. And his dialect was something that made me smile every time it was used. It was masterfully done without being burdensome to the reader. Absolutely delightful.

Rating and Why: Five Stars. I truly enjoy the Serendipity and Secrets series. It was such a joy to return to those characters and find that the true-to-life struggles of each character were not diminished by the shortness of the story.

Amazon.com       Baker Bookhouse        Barnes and Noble        Book Depository      Christianbook.com

The Gentleman Spy by Erica Vetsch

The Gentleman Spy by Erica Vetsch

The Gentleman Spy by Erica Vetsch

The Gentleman Spy is the second book in the Serendipity and Secrets series from Erica Vetsch, and this book was just as enjoyable as the first. I can’t wait to preorder and read the third book. This story definitely had more of a flair of danger, espionage, and suspense. Y’all, Marcus was one of those swoony heroes for me, and maybe it’s just that I have a thing for lawmen type characters, but I really think it is just because he is such versatile and confident character. The poor guy is a bit delusional, too, with flaws that make him real but still admirable. I love watching him grow beyond the great spy he already was into a more rounded man and husband. Charlotte was strong and someone I could look up to. I spent a good portion of the book cheering when she did something that showed her heart or showed her growing confidence. I won’t reveal any spoilers, but the complexity of the story was something I just drool over. Can I say I want to write like her when I grow up? LOL It was definitely a book I will read over and over again.

I highly recommend this book to readers of the Regency era, marriages of convenience, and complex plots mixed with danger and intrigue.


Genre: Historical Romance, Regency, 1814

Plot Overview:

He only wanted a duchess for a day–but she’s determined to make it a marriage for life

When his father and older brother suddenly pass away, the new Duke of Haverly is saddled with a title he never expected to bear. To thwart the plans of his scheming family, the duke impulsively marries a wallflower. After all, she’s meek and mild; it should be easy to sequester her in the country and get on with his life–as a secret agent for the Crown.

But his bride has other ideas. She’s determined to take her place not only as his duchess but as his wife. As a duchess, she can use her position to help the lowest of society–the women forced into prostitution because they have no skills or hope. Her endeavors are not met favorably in society, nor by her husband who wishes she’d remain in the background as he ordered.

Can the duke succeed in relegating her to the sidelines of his life? When his secrets are threatened with exposure, will his new wife be an asset or a liability?

What I loved: The spy theme just really satisfied my need for action and intrigue. And I love how the poor Duke’s expectation that everything could stay in its box was brought to reality.

Favorite Character and Why: I loved both Marcus and Charlotte, for different reasons than Evan and Diana, but Aunt Dolly really tickled me. I loved her heart and the way she inserted herself into both Marcus’s and Charlotte’s lives.

Rating and Why: Five Stars. This is a series I will reread over and over. First The Lost Lieutenant and now The Gentleman Spy. Both books scratched my itch for romance AND danger.

Amazon.com       Baker Bookhouse        Barnes and Noble        Book Depository      Christianbook.com

The Lost Lieutenant by Erica Vetsch

The Lost Lieutenant by Erica Vetsch

The Lost Lieutenant by Erica Vetsch

Fans of Regency and Marriage of Convenience stories will be delighted by this tale of a hero — who can’t remember the event that made him a hero — and a woman with her own secrets united by the Prince Regent’s wishes. I have been eyeing this book for months but other reading commitments kept it sitting on my TBR pile. I have finally settled into a routine of evening reading, and this book was my first pick.

Guys, I really enjoyed this one even more than I expected, and I had high expectations. I loved the mystery, the complex connections, and oh my goodness, the relationship development between Evan and Diana. They both had so much to learn in those early days, and Erica Vetsch handled it so well. This was the type of story that shows marriage as it can really be, not all rainbows and butterflies. Watching these two learn each other’s strengths and to play off of them was so heart-warming. I loved this story so much, I went ahead and bought the second book and read it as soon as it arrived in the mail. (So guess which one will come as my next review. Tee hee hee.)

I highly recommend this book to readers of the Regency era, marriages of convenience, and complex plots mixed with danger and intrigue.


Genre: Historical Romance, Regency, 1813

Plot Overview:

He’s doing what he can to save the Prince Regent’s life . . . but can he save his new marriage as well?

Evan Eldridge never meant to be a war hero–he just wanted to fight Napoleon for the future of his country. And he certainly didn’t think that saving the life of a peer would mean being made the Earl of Whitelock. But when the life you save is dear to the Prince Regent, things can change in a hurry.

Now Evan has a new title, a manor house in shambles, and a stranger for a bride, all thrust upon him by a grateful ruler. What he doesn’t have are all his memories. Traumatized as a result of his wounds and bravery on the battlefield, Evan knows there’s something he can’t quite remember. It’s important, dangerous–and if he doesn’t recall it in time, will jeopardize not only his marriage but someone’s very life.

What I loved: The relationship development between Evan and Diana is so fascinating. I love the push and pull to learn to trust each other with their darkest secrets. It was probably one of the best romances I have read to really depict those struggles realistically and in a way that also makes you fall in love with the characters.

Favorite Character and Why: I have to say I really loved Evan and Diana equally. In fact, they almost seem one character–just like any husband and wife are one in Christ–and it wasn’t because they seemed the character. They just belong together so well that I can’t separate them in my head as liking one more than the other.

Rating and Why: Five Stars. This is a story I will reread over and over. If it isn’t obvious yet, this is a story I will be gushing over for a while.

Amazon.com       Baker Bookhouse        Barnes and Noble        Book Depository      Christianbook.com

Pin It on Pinterest